Some thoughts on Haiti

I grew up in the Bittersweet Lane Apartments surrounded by the sounds of Haitian Kreyol.  On my first trip back to Randolph after leaving for college, I remember sitting on the 240 bus catching a wisp of the sound over my headphones.  I muted my cd player because I missed that sound at college.  I remember what Haitian independence day was like at RHS, all the flags and all the pride.

I think most of us in Randolph have some connection to and love for Haiti.  Fortunately, most of the people I’ve talked to in the month since the quake have accounted for their families.  The situation there is stabilized but still desperate.  Here, we are all wondering what to do.  I’m proud to say my brother is there with the 82nd Airborne.  He gets to help directly with relief efforts.

Today at MIT, I attended a couple panels and meetings about what our response to Haiti should be.  There is a tremendous amount of knowledge and resources here for various aspects of rebuilding efforts – we did it in New Orleans, Peru, and elsewhere.  What there is not here is much knowledge about Haiti.  More than that, there are few connections to the Haitian diaspora here in the Boston area – the 3rd largest behind Miami and NYC.  It’s a shame that I can’t walk the halls at MIT and hear Kreyol like I did in RHS or the 240 bus or my old apartment building.

State Reps Marie St. Fleur and Linda Dorcena-Forry keep hammering home the point that Haitians in Massachusetts have both the passion and a diverse set of talents to bring to recovery and rebuilding in Haiti.  How can MIT help Haitians in Boston fulfill that potential?  What does the Haitian diaspora here need to get working?

Where Haitians in live in the Boston area

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

